ASSAf Programmes

The Scholarly Publishing Unit carries out peer review and associated quality audits of all South African research journals in 5-year cycles. This is done in relation to groups of titles sharing a particular broad disciplinary focus in order to make recommendations for improved functioning of each journal in the national and international system.

The periodic, grouped, quality assurance-directed peer review of South African research/scholarly periodicals focuses on: the quality of editorial and review processes; fitness of purpose; positioning in the global cycle of new and old journals listed and indexed in databases; financial sustainability; and scope and size issues. The reports are released to the publishers and editors of the journals concerned, as well as other stakeholders such as national associations, the Departments of Science and Technology and of Higher Education and Training, the Council on Higher Education (CHE) / Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC), the National Research Foundation (NRF) and Universities South Africa (USAF), and all research-active institutions.

Peer Review Process Guidelines and Criteria

Reports in the following subject fields have been completed: Agricultural and Basic Life Sciences; Law; Health; Social Sciences, Religion and Theology; Humanities Part 1, Classics, Literature and Language; ABEE. There are 7 more panels in the remainder of the subject fields.

Below are the links to the reports and associated panel members

Three panel reviews are currently on progress. Below is a list of peer review panel members for each disciplinary group.


  • Dr John Butler-Adam (UP/ASSAf) - Chairperson

  • Prof Rajendra Chetty (CPUT)

  • Prof Vitallis Chikoko (UKZN)

  • Prof Merridy Wilson-Strydom (UFS)

  • Dr Angela James (UKZN)

  • Prof Ina Joubert (UP)

  • Prof Jace Pillay (UJ) - Vice-chairperson


  • Prof Anthony Afolayan (UFH)

  • Prof Roumen Anguelov (UP)

  • Prof Don Cowan (UP) - Chairperson

  • Prof Zodwa Dlamini (MUT)

  • Prof Eno Ebenso (NWU) - Vice-chairperson

  • Prof Maryke Labuschagne (UFS)

  • Prof Natasha Sacks (WITS)

  • Prof Edilegnaw Wale Zegeye (UKZN) 


  • Prof Tania Coetzee (UFS)

  • Prof Tilman Dedering (UNISA) - Chairperson

  • Prof Christopher Isike (UP) - Vice-chairperson

  • Prof Pascah Mungwini (UNISA

  • Prof Brigitte Smit (UNISA)

  • Prof Anné Verhoef (NWU)